Virtual pet – BYOB and App Inventor

It’s time to try out my project idea in different software.  I’m working on the virtual pet idea, and first creating in BYOB, and then in MIT App Inventor.

The starting point for the code is the project found at interactiveclassroom.net, but I have developed this a little and will be continuing to develop further as the project goes on.

BYOB virtual pet code

The starting point for the pet code

Scratch/BYOB

This is what the pet sprite code looks like in BYOB (more or less just Scratch, here; no extra features of BYOB used yet).  The timing is very short at the moment to allow for efficient testing.

BYOB feed me button code

The code to feed the pet

There is a button to click to provide food.  The variable hunger is set to apply to all sprites (global variable). Another option is to make it apply only to the pet, but in that case the button sprite would not be able to change the hunger value and would have to send a message to the pet instead, asking it to change its own code.

BYOB virtual pet stage

BYOB version game stage

This is what the game looks like so far: very simple.  The pet’s hunger is displayed onscreen and gradually goes up to 10.  If it gets to 10, he disappears. If the feed me button is clicked, this decreases the hunger by 1.  The next development will be to have a value for health, which will gradually decrease by a random amount and will require medicine to be given.

 

 

MIT App Inventor

The next task is to create the same project but in MIT App Inventor.  It says a lot for the usability of this system that I felt confident enough to try this project so early on in my learning.

virtual pet code in the app inventor

virtual pet code

The system itself was again straightforward: I designed the screen layout, and then used the blocks editor to build the code.  The only complication was that I could not find anything to reset the game, which in Scratch/BYOB I would do by clicking the green flag again, so I built in a reset button as well.  I defined my own variable, hunger, as a global variable as in Scratch, and defined a procedure block called showHunger, which would display the current hunger level in the label element.  This was then available to use whenever I needed it.  The clock element fires very frequently at the moment, again for testing purposes, and when it fires the hunger increases until it reaches 10, at which point the pet disappears, a message appears saying the pet is dead and the reset button becomes active.  Pressing it redisplays the pet and sets its hunger back to 0.

virtual pet running in the emulator

Virtual pet on the emulator

I had a few problems getting the blocks editor open this time, possibly because I was working on a different machine with slightly different security settings, but generally doing all the creation online makes it straightforward to work on my project wherever I want.

This shows the game in action so far.  The red button will reduce the hunger, which otherwise grows to 10.  Once it reaches 10 the pet disappears and the reset button becomes active.  Pressing that will bring the pet back and reset hunger.

So far so good: I have the raw bones of my project up and running in two different software platforms.  It’s playable, if rather simple and uninteresting, and I’m ready to start adding in new features.  Of course, it’s important to make sure that the new features don’t interfere with the original ones!

If anyone would like more details of the design side of the app, or any other information on my projects, or you just want to tell me if you’re finding it useful, feel free to comment on the post (link at top).

About emmyleigh
Writer/editor/proofreader who loves technology

2 Responses to Virtual pet – BYOB and App Inventor

  1. hello! says:

    hello!could you tell me what components have you used for the app invenntor?where there buttons or anything else?do you have a tutorial for this example please?

Leave a Reply

